DepEd turns over supervision of Cotabato City Division, 103 schools from North Cotabato to BARMM Education Ministry

0 comment   MBHTE Regional Information Office

Out of  83 schools from Cotabato City SDO, 43 are public, 39 are private and one is a state university. Meanwhile, the 103 schools from the 63 barangays are composed of 85 elementary and 18 secondary schools.
2,195 authorized positions and 2,380 teaching staff were already deployed in the schools in Cotabato City and North Cotabato, respectively.

In her video message, DepEd Secretary Leonor Briones said she has no doubt that DepEd and the MBHTE will have a rich and fruitful partnership.

“We will be working together and we will also be considering national interests as well as the historical, cultural, and distinct identity of BARMM especially as expressed in its system of education,” said Briones.

Also with no doubts, MBHTE Minister Mohagher Iqbal said that “Cotabato City SDO and all academic and learning institutions from North Cotabato will support the MBHTE in its endeavors for the Bangsamoro education community’s well-being, especially the learners.”

“Always remember that the monies we spent for the education of our children are not expenses, they are investments,” said Iqbal.

Iqbal added that once the Parliament approves the Bangsamoro Education Code, it will allow the Education Ministry to govern the education system in the region and set the strategic direction for realizing a balanced, accessible, and inclusive education structure rooted in the BARMM’s prevailing context.

DepEd Region XII Regional Director (RD) Allan Farnazo handed over turnover documents to Minister Iqbal. The documents include plant, property, equipment, and other assets with complete information required and appointments of teachers.

The handing over of documents was followed by a ceremonial signing of turnover instrument between the DepEd and the MBHTE, where RD Farnazo represented Secretary Briones.

The turnover of these schools was following the official turnover of Cotabato City and the 63 barangays to BARMM on December 15, 2020.

Last modified on Monday, 04 January 2021 08:22


The Access to Higher and Modern Education (AHME) Scholarship Program also known as the Bangsamoro IQ Scholar is a flagship scholarship program of the Bangsamoro Government implemented by the Ministry of Basic, Higher and Technical Education (MBHTE). It is a program that complements existing higher education scholarship, subsidy, loan, and similar programs implemented in the Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (BARMM) for qualified senior high school and ALS graduates in the region and gives priority to qualified combatants, their children, orphans, or surviving spouses in line with post-conflict rehabilitation and development efforts of the Bangsamoro Government. It will provide PhP 60,000.00 per student per academic year to a total of 1,400 qualified student beneficiaries region-wide.

Contact us

Gutierrez Avenue, RH No. VII, Cotabato City,  9600
T: +63 (64) 552-2046
F: +63 (64) 552-1618
Template Settings


For each color, the params below will give default values
Blue Brown Green Pink Violet
Layout Style
Select menu